Where do we begin? Church & Reception Venue

So, we’re engaged now, Right?

Good. Got that.

We’ve told our friends and family, strangers and friends of strangers. I told the world right here on my blog. It’s been 2 months and I’m still encountering people that still didn’t know we were engaged. My dentist didn’t know, my friends far away haven’t seen the ring in person. Each time someone says congrats or “let’s see it!” I get all giddy all over again and hold out my hand as if we were engaged yesterday.

It really is a great feeling. I don’t brag, I don’t just randomly hold out my ring finger to strangers. I keep it hidden sometimes, protected in my pocket. It’s hard when I talk about Ian though. The word “Fiance” is so silly sounding to me. Not that I don’t like it, or I don’t want to be his Fiance either, but we both agree that the word fiance is just an odd word. Most of the time I call him Ian to people, or I’ll say “my boyfriend”, or jokingly say “my soon-to-be hubby”. Sometimes I get messed up and say, “boyfr- oh, I guess fiancee now….” Which then makes that person say, “ohmigosh! Let’s see it!?” *Cue the warm fuzzy feeling* :)

The first thing we did was choose a time period for the date of our wedding. Well, I lied. I guess the first thing we tried to do was a guest list, but that still isn’t finalized (and I bet it won’t be for a while).

Anywhoo… we didn’t want a long engagement and Winter and summer are just too extreme weather for us. That leaves Autumn, which we both adore. Autumn was 11 months away. Practically “next year!” Which made my mom a bit nervous since I’m her first married out of 3. (Me too!) The second option was Spring…. of 2013. I pictured gardens and flowers, and Robins Egg blue lanterns, and pretty white fluffy decorations, and a gorgeous outdoor wedding somewhere with a view. BUT it’s Spring.. of 2013. That, to me, is a long engagement. That’s practically a year and a half. Nothing wrong with an engagement that long, but we didn’t want it. Meaning Fall of 2012 was the winner.

I can’t even begin to count the number of times we were told “Enjoy the engagement!” “Don’t let the planning be stressful!”, “Walk away when you disagree!”, “Enjoy it!”, Enjoy it!”

I’d nod and say, “yes yes I know”… but secretly, I was stressed from Day 1.

We needed a place! A church! and a date! I’m from NY, he lives in NJ. We didn’t even have a STATE at one point! We started just exploring places blindly.

Right around thanksgiving, we looked at a place, The Lodge at Lake Hird. A huge restored Lodge from the 1930s. Wood beams, wood floors, huge fireplace on one side, right on a lake, area on a back patio for a cocktail hour and everything. THAT was the description. It was umm… a hunting lodge. NOTHING AGAINST HUNTING LODGES, but for a wedding? Picture this: 20-something decapitated deer hanging on the walls staring at me and my guests. No thanks. (They can’t be removed, I asked.) Maybe I’d rent the place for Ian’s retirement party one day, but not a wedding. I was disappointed, and had a nice little freak out about how we won’t find a place for us that we can afford, and blah blah.

Oh yes, Budget. I won’t reveal the full extent of our budget. You can’t buy a new car with it is all I’ll say. We have two generous families (my mother is giving me half) and Ian’s family has offered any support we may need. Thank you all. <3

We're both self sufficient individuals, so accepting help and things is still new to us. I have been saving for .. oh… about 1.5 years. Ian and I have been dating for 2.5 now. Yes, I started saving before I was engaged. Right as soon as I knew, right when we started talking future plans, and possible marriage, I began a Wedding Fund bank account at the bank. I felt so adult-y!

Geez, I'm sorry… this is the longest post ever. I'll add more photos as an apology!

FAST FORWARD…

We choose Our Lady Queen of Peace as our Church. This is currently Ian's church, and will be mine when I move to NJ. It seemed right to choose it. It's a gorgeous church.

Right before Christmas, Ian and I checked out the venue called the Warwick Center. It has a chapel on the property (Mulder Chapel), with a reception room right underneath. (The Port Ewen Room). We had booked our church, so we choose that reception space! It’s got wonderful views of Warwick Valley in Warwick, NY! The views are really breathtaking, and these photos were from December. Just imagine with all the fall foliage!




The room in this photo is set up for another wedding (180 people!) ours will obviously look different with our designs and only 100 or so people!

Patio Space for Cocktails



thy have plans for a gazebo here, but maybe not before our wedding.


Click on the pics to see them bigger. Look at the View!

We also met with a caterer. He was fabulous. We choose a great menu, and are working out some kinks. Hope we can work with him. I’ll share the menu in my next post!

2 thoughts on “Where do we begin? Church & Reception Venue

Leave a comment